français | deutsch
 

FAQ

Products | Repairs | Shipping | Usage
I own a very old SCHOEPS microphone. Can you still repair it?
SCHOEPS has been making microphones for over sixty years. As a rule we offer repair service for every type of microphone which we have ever manufactured. Microphones which we have made since 1970 can nearly always be restored fully. The same cannot be guaranteed for all older microphones, however, because certain replacement parts may no longer be available. This applies primarily to tube microphones (apart from the M 222), the CMTS 501, all three-pattern capsules and to various spinoff models of the CMT series.

For such microphones, an estimate may not be possible as we sometimes have to start the repair already before knowing if we succeed. This first of all concerns all three-pattern capsules.

Generally any repair can only be considered a repair attempt, even if we have given an estimate of costs. Should we reach a point at which necessary replacement parts are unavailable, we can proceed no further. In that case, even if a micro-phone had been partly functional before, it may no longer be possible to restore that level of functioning. In isolated instances the existing parts can no longer even be put back together, and can only be returned to the customer as separate parts with no possibility of replacement for that capsule or amplifier.

Concerning repair costs:

For ”vintage” microphones we can prepare preliminary estimates on request, but they are not binding (see above); the actual cost of a successful repair may differ from the estimate given.

For three-pattern capsules an estimate is generally not possible, we always will start the repair and try to reach the best possible result.

If the microphone is a total loss (see above), there is no charge. Our information sheet on repair estimates gives a more detailed description of this process.

For ”vintage” microphones with parts that are missing, e.g.due to attempts at repair by third parties, we do not as a rule offer service.

We ask that you accept the above terms before sending historical microphones to us for repair.
Whom should I contact for repairs within (or after) the warranty period?
Basically, you should turn to the dealer from whom you purchased the item(s). If you would like to deal with us directly, you can send your repair items to us at

SCHOEPS GmbH
Spitalstrasse 20
D-76227 Karlsruhe
Germany

along with a description of the problem. If outside Europe, please fax us a copy of your package manifest with all items in the parcel and their serial numbers in advance at +49-721-943 2050; we will need this in order to clear your package through German customs. Without it we will not receive your package, and there will be substantial waste of your money and time.
Who pays the shipping costs?
Shipments to us must arrive prepaid; C.O.D. shipments are not accepted. SCHOEPS pays the return shipping costs for warranty repairs or exchanges within Germany; in all other cases, the recipient of the return shipment pays the shipping costs. For return shipments to countries other than Germany, the shipping charges must be paid before we ship the merchandise. For this reason we recommend sending repair items to your national representative, who will organize combined shipments to lower the individual costs.
How can I get an estimate ?
If you would like to know in advance what the repair of your SCHOEPSmicrophone will cost, you can request an estimate. Even if only an estimate is being sought, we must have the equipment before us. Estimates take extra time and will delay the return of your microphone.

As a rule there is no charge for an estimate, on the assumption that a repair which would be economically sensible will, in fact, be carried out. A fee is charged only if a repair is declined which would have cost less than 30% of the current list price of the item. The estimate fee would then be figured at up to € 50 for major items such as capsules, amplifiers or active accessories.

To arrive at an estimate, the item must be opened and/or disassembled. If the repair is then declined, it is possible that for a microphone which had been partly functional before, it may no longer be possible to restore that same level of functioning. In isolated instances the existing parts can no longer even be reassembled, and can only be returned to the customer as separate parts with no possibility of replacement for that capsule or amplifier.

If examination reveals that the item has no defect and can be restored to full usefulness simply by cleaning it, then to avoid wasting time, we will carry out the cleaning and testing without stopping to offer an estimate. Only the modest cost of this service will be charged.
If a repair would not make economic sense or would be technically infeasible, there will be no estimate charge.

For historical SCHOEPS microphones an estimate may be impossible - see above FAQ concerning the repair of old SCHOEPS microphones. This first of all concerns all three pattern capsules.

english | français
 

FAQ

Anwendung | Lieferung | Produkte | Reparaturen
Ich habe ein sehr altes SCHOEPS-Mikrofon. Können Sie das noch reparieren?
SCHOEPS baut seit über 60 Jahren Mikrofone. Grundsätzlich bieten wir für alle jemals gebauten Modelle einen Reparatur-Service an. Mikrofone, die nach 1970 ausgeliefert wurden, können praktisch immer vollständig instand gesetzt werden. Bei älteren Mikrofonen kann das nicht in jedem Fall garantiert werden, weil nicht mehr alle Ersatzteile verfügbar sind. Dies betrifft vor allem sämtliche Röhrenmikrofone (ausgenommen das M222), sowie die CMTS und CMT-Serien mit allen ihren Ablegern.

Für diese Mikrofone gilt:

Im Grenzfall kann ein Kostenvoranschlag nicht möglich sein, weil sich erst während der tatsächlichen Reparatur herausstellt, ob es klappt oder nicht. In diesem Fall reparieren wir angemessen so gut wie es möglich ist. Dies betrifft vor allem alle dreifach umschaltbaren Kapseln.

Auch wenn zuvor ein Kostenvoranschlag erstellt wurde, kann er nur unverbindlich sein. Die tatsächlichen Kosten bei erfolgreicher Reparatur können davon abweichen.

Eine Vintage Reparatur ist auch immer als ein Reparaturversuch zu verstehen. Sollten wir an einen Punkt kommen, an dem keine Ersatzteile mehr vorhanden sind, müssen wir die Reparatur abbrechen. In diesem Fall wird es nicht mehr möglich sein, eine vor der Reparatur eventuell noch vorhandene Restfunktion wiederherzustellen. In Einzelfällen wird selbst ein erneuter Zusammenbau unmöglich sein. Kapsel oder Verstärker werden in diesem ”worst case” zerlegt – sprich: in Einzelteilen – zurückgesandt. Ein Ersatz wird nicht möglich sein.

Bei Totalschäden (s.o.) erfolgt keine Berechnung.

Für ”Vintage”-Mikrofone, die nicht komplett sind (z.B. auf Grund vorausgegangener Reparaturversuche Dritter), bieten wir grundsätzlich keinen Service.

Bitte stimmen Sie dem Inhalt dieses Informationsblatts zu, bevor Sie uns historische Mikrofone zur Reparatur zusenden. Ohne Ihre Zustimmung zu diesen Punkten können wir keinen Service durchführen.
Wohin kann ich mich mit Reparaturen während oder auch nach der Garantiezeit wenden?
Grundsätzlich dorthin, wo Sie auch gekauft haben. Wenn Sie die direkte Abwicklung bevorzugen, können Sie uns auch von überall in der Welt Ihre Reparatur direkt zusenden an

SCHOEPS GmbH
Spitalstrasse 20
76227 Karlsruhe

Bitte fügen Sie eine Fehlerbeschreibung bei. Von außerhalb Europas senden Sie bitte eine Kopie Ihres Lieferschein mit allen Positionen im Paket und den jeweiligen Seriennummern vorab per Fax an +49-721-943 2050 oder per Email an mailbox@schoeps.de. Diese Kopie benötigen wir für den deutschen Zoll. Ohne sie bekommen wir die Reparatur nicht ausgehändigt, und es entstehen Mehrkosten sowie ein großer Zeitverlust durch die Rück- und erneute Zusendung.
Wer trägt die Versandkosten?
Jede Sendung muss uns frei erreichen. Unfreie Sendungen werden nicht angenommen. Die Kosten für die Rücksendung bei einer Garantiereparatur oder für einen Austausch der Ware innerhalb Deutschlands trägt SCHOEPS. In allen anderen Fällen trägt sie der Empfänger.
Bei Sendungen ins Ausland müssen die Versandkosten bezahlt sein, bevor wir die Ware versenden. Aus diesem Grund empfehlen wir, defekte Mikrofone an die jeweilige Landesvertretung zu senden. Diese versendet - je nach Reparaturaufkommen - auch mehrere Reparaturen zusammen, so dass die Kosten für den Einzelnen sinken.
Wie bekomme ich einen Kostenvoranschlag ?
Wenn Sie vor der Reparatur eines SCHOEPS Mikrofons wissen wollen, welche Kosten auf Sie zukommen, können Sie im Anschreiben einen Kostenvoranschlag beauftragen. Auch hierfür ist die Zusendung des defekten Mikrofons erforderlich. Ein solcher Kostenvoranschlag braucht zusätzliche Zeit, es dauert somit länger, bis Sie Ihr Mikrofon zurück erhalten.

Ein Kostenvoranschlag ist in der Regel kostenlos, im Gegenzug gehen wir davon aus, dass Reparaturen, die wirtschaftlich sinnvoll sind, auch durchgeführt werden. Eine Servicepauschale wird nur dann erhoben, wenn eine Reparatur abgelehnt wird, deren Kosten unter 30% des aktuellen Listenpreises bleiben. Der Kostenvoranschlag wird dann – abhängig vom Aufwand – mit bis zu € 50,- für aktive Teile (Kapseln, Verstärker, Aktives Zubehör) berechnet.

Zum Erstellen eines Kostenvoranschlags muss das Produkt geöffnet bzw. zerlegt werden. Wenn die Reparatur anschließend abgelehnt wird, kann es vorkommen, dass es nicht mehr möglich ist, eine vor dem Öffnen eventuell noch vorhandene Restfunktion wiederherzustellen. In Einzelfällen wird selbst ein erneuter Zusammenbau unmöglich sein. Dies ist z.B. bei Reparaturanfragen mit beschädigtem Gehäuse der Fall. Kapsel oder Verstärker werden in diesem ”worst case” zerlegt – sprich: in Einzelteilen – zurückgesandt.

Wenn eine Überprüfung ergibt, dass das Mikrofon nicht defekt ist, sondern nach einer Reinigung wieder uneingeschränkt verwendbar wird, erstellen wir wegen Geringfügigkeit keinen Kostenvoranschlag, sondern führen Reinigung und Überprüfung gleich durch und stellen die geringen Kosten für diesen Service in Rechnung.

Wenn eine Reparatur wirtschaftlich nicht mehr sinnvoll oder technisch nicht mehr machbar sein sollte, wird für den Kostenvoranschlag auch nichts berechnet.

Bei Vintage Mikrofonen kann ein Kostenvoranschlag nicht möglich sein, weil sich erst während der tatsächlichen Reparatur herausstellt, ob es klappt oder nicht. In diesem Fall reparieren wir angemessen so gut wie es möglich ist. Dies betrifft z.B. alle dreifach umschaltbaren Kapseln.