français | deutsch
 

Company history

Dr. Wilhelm Küsters, the first employee - a remarkable technician
Dr. Karl Schoeps, Founder and former business manager of the company

The company known as “Schall­technik Dr.-Ing. SCHOEPS” was founded in June, 1948; the precise date is not recorded. In the period fol­lowing the war, business prac­tices weren’t reg­u­lated as closely as they are today. During those years, people were con­cerned mainly with procuring and securing the means of survival; thus the first official entry in the business register of the chamber of commerce of Karl­sruhe occurs only in 1956. It is not shown yet as an incor­po­rated entity; that occurred only later, in 1978. The place of the company’s founding was Durlach, the oldest neigh­borhood of the ciry of Karl­sruhe, where the company still has its home. The founder was Dr.-Ing. Karl Schoeps (b. 1906), and his first co-​worker was Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm Küsters (b. 1910). Both had com­pleted their studies in Infor­mation Tech­nology at the Tech­nical College of Karlsruhe.

The name, which is somewhat unusual for a man­u­fac­turer (“Schall­technik” = audio tech­nology), stems from the original intention to be con­cerned with all aspects of sound recording and public address systems in general. At the time the company was founded, the German pop­u­lation had a great need for enter­tainment, which could not yet, of course, be met with video recorders or home theater systems. The cinema was foremost; films with sound thus expe­ri­enced their first great period of growth, and at the SCHOEPS company, plans were being made for cinema sound instal­la­tions. Beyond that, the company was con­cerned (in private apart­ments at first, and later in a rented building) with con­structing small quan­tities of tape recorders. But already in its first year, the company also built the first SCHOEPS con­denser micro­phone, the CMV 50/​2 (con­taining two of the well-​known RV 12 P 2000 vacuum tubes). The capsule and the micro­phone body (whose size, unimag­inable in today’s con­di­tions, was ca. 13″ tall and 3″ in diameter), were still con­nected together in a fixed manner.

During its first twenty years, the SCHOEPS company had prac­ti­cally no dis­tri­b­ution network of its own. Despite this, the circle of its clients grew steadily larger. Due to Dr. Schoeps’ friendship with a com­mercial rep­re­sen­tative in France who had excellent contacts among French radio broad­casters, a con­sid­erable market position (which still endures today) could already be achieved there in the 1950s. Far more than half of SCHOEPS pro­duction at that time was exported to France.

Read on in part 2 »

english | français
 

Firmengeschichte

Dr. Wilhelm Küsters, der erste Angestellte - ein bemerkenswerter Techniker
Dr. Karl Schoeps, Gründer und ehemaliger Geschäftsführer der Firma

Die Firma „Schall­technik Dr.-Ing. SCHOEPS“ wurde Juni 1948 gegründet, wobei der genaue Tag nicht doku­men­tiert ist. In der Nach­kriegszeit lief das Geschäfts­leben noch nicht so geregelt wie heute. Man war im Deutschland der Nach­kriegs­jahre mit dem Aufbau und der Sicherung seiner Existenz beschäftigt, und so findet sich erst im Jahr 1956 die erste offi­zielle Ein­tragung in das Han­dels­re­gister der IHK, jedoch noch nicht als GmbH; diese erfolgte erst 1978. Grün­dungsort war Durlach, der älteste Stadtteil von Karlsruhe. Hier ist die Firma auch heute noch behei­matet. Fir­men­gründer war Dr.-Ing. Karl Schoeps (Jahrgang 1906), sein erster Mit­ar­beiter Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm Küsters (Jahrgang 1910); beide Absol­venten des Stu­di­en­gangs Nach­rich­ten­technik an der TH Karlsruhe.

Der für einen Mikro­fon­her­steller etwas unge­wöhn­liche Name rührt daher, dass man sich anfänglich all­gemein mit Schall­auf­nahme– und Beschal­lungs­technik befasste, denn zur Grün­dungszeit hatte die Bevöl­kerung ein großes Bedürfnis nach Unter­haltung, das sie noch nicht — wie heute — mit Video­re­corder und hei­mi­schem Bild­schirm befrie­digen konnte. Man ging ins Kino. Vor allem der Tonfilm erlebte deshalb seine erste Blü­tezeit, und im Hause SCHOEPS wurden Berech­nungen für Kino-​Beschallungsanlagen durch­ge­führt. Darüber hinaus beschäf­tigte man sich — zunächst noch in privaten Räumen, später in einem gemie­teten Gebäude — mit dem Bau von Ton­band­ge­räten, die in kleiner Stückzahl gefertigt wurden. Doch schon im Grün­dungsjahr wurde auch das erste SCHOEPS-​Kondensatormikrofon gebaut, das CMV 50/​2, mit zwei der legen­dären Röhren RV 12 P 2000. Kapsel und Mikro­fon­körper waren hier noch starr mit­ein­ander ver­bunden. Abmes­sungen: für heutige Ver­hält­nisse unvor­stellbare 320 mm Länge bei 80 mm Durchmesser.

In den ersten zwanzig Jahren der Fir­men­ge­schichte hatte SCHOEPS prak­tisch kein eigenes Ver­triebsnetz. Dennoch wurde der Kun­den­kreis ständig größer. Dank der Freund­schaft von Dr. Schoeps zu einem fran­zö­si­schem Han­dels­ver­treter, der über beste Kontakte zum Rundfunk verfügte, konnte dort schon in den 50ern eine bis heute erhaltene, beacht­liche Markt­po­sition erreicht werden. Weit mehr als die Hälfte der Fer­tigung wurde damals nach Frank­reich exportiert.

Weiterlesen in Teil 2 »